Barre Community Justice Center

30 Keith Avenue, Barre, VT 05641 802-476-0276


It is the mission of the Greater Barre Community Justice Center to address the issues of conflict and crime by promoting shared responsibility for a safe and healthy community. The GBCJC engages citizens in restoring relationships, repairing past harms, and building community connections through education and involvement.
The GBCJC is a citizen-governed non-profit that operates with input from the City of Barre and its residents, and responds to stated needs and priorities from them and other surrounding towns. We are committed to providing a safe environment for resolving conflicts, and to promoting restorative justice and victim sensitivity throughout the entire community, based on the following principles:

  • Crimes and disputes are best resolved in the local communities where they occur.
  • The victim has special needs and claims that are at the center of the resolution process.
  • The offender has an opportunity to understand the impact of the crime, express remorse and repair the harm done to the victim and to the wider community.
  • Community members have a right to feel safe, respected and involved in the issues that affect their quality of life and sense of personal well-being.
  • Restorative justice engages all those affected by crime, in an effort to put things right.

Citizen volunteers, trained in restorative practices, provide guidance to the Center and deliver many of the services. The GBCJC is governed by a Board of Directors — a diverse group of people with various skills, backgrounds and experience.

You can support our mission

The Greater Barre Community Justice Center is a non-profit organization, and values support from the community it serves. We welcome your tax-deductible donation to help continue our work. To make a contribution, you can mail a check to:

Barre Community Justice Center
30 Keith Ave.  Suite One
Barre, VT 05641

Board of Directors
Roni Coleman Board Chair
Mary Anne Owen Vice-Chair
Robert Kershaw Secretary
Robert Purvis Treasurer
Patricia A. Paola  
Michael Boutin